In the tradition of Barbara Tuchman and Jonathan Spence, former veteran National Geographic staff writer Louise Levathes delivers a vivid, you-are-there. When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne Louise Levathes, Author Simon & Schuster $23 (p) ISBN. When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, – By Louise Levathes. New York: Simon and Schuster, pp. $

Author: Nele Akinok
Country: Bermuda
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Sex
Published (Last): 15 September 2008
Pages: 157
PDF File Size: 5.58 Mb
ePub File Size: 1.89 Mb
ISBN: 258-3-45576-604-5
Downloads: 6283
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Shakarg

When China Ruled the Seas – Paperback – Louise Levathes – Oxford University Press

With over ships–some measuring as much as feet long and feet wide, with upwards of nine masts and twelve sails, and combined crews sometimes numbering over 28, men–the emperor Zhu Di’s fantastic fleet was a virtual floating city, a naval expression of his Forbidden City in Beijing.

Reviews “Levathes tells her story in a lively style, and details her sources meticulously. Chapter 4, The Treasure Fleet. Epilogue, A People Called Baijini. Levathes certainly has the background and credentials to have penned the account of China’s maritime dominance during the Ming Dynasty.

The United States and China: This section contains words approx. Chapter 1, The Yi Peoples.

When China Ruled the Seas – Louise Levathes – Oxford University Press

US Higher Education Not for profit. Chapter 2, Confucians and Curiosities. Order our When China Ruled the Seas: Chapter 9, Fires in the Forbidden City. Browse all BookRags Study Guides.

The Ming Dynasty began in the late-fourteenth century. Immerman and Petra Goedde. Open Road Distribution Publication Date: For thirty years foreign goods, medicines, geographic knowledge, and cultural insights flowed into China at an extraordinary rate, and China extended its sphere of political power and influence throughout the Indian Ocean.

  CISCO SG200-50P MANUAL PDF

On Hinduism Wendy Doniger. Threat to the West or Model for the Rest?

When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, 1405-1433 Summary & Study Guide

No person better than Levathes could leavthes When China Ruled the Seas: Drawing on eyewitness accounts, official Ming histories, and African, Arab, and Indian sources, many translated for the first time, Levathes brings readers inside China’s most illustrious scientific and technological era. Family, Fields, and Ancestors: There is archaeological evidence that the Yi people traveled as far as South and Central America. When China Ruled the Seas: Zhu Yuanzhang ascribed to these Confucian views and did not develop a navy.

The period of China’s greatest outward expansion was followed by the period of its greatest isolation. A hundred years before Columbus and his fellow Europeans began making their way to the New World, fleets of giant Chinese junks commanded by the eunuch admiral Zheng He and filled with the empire’s finest rulee, lacquerware, and silk ventured to the edge of the world’s “four corners. Chapter 10, The Last Voyage.

Oxford University Press is a department of the University of Oxford. She sheds new light on the historical and cultural context in which this great civilization thrived, as well as the perception of China by other contemporary cultures. Get When China Lebathes the Seas: China’s dominance of the seas paralleled the reign of Zhu Di. Chapter 10, The Last Voyage.

More about Louise Levathes.

Disobedient merchants and seamen were killed, and within a hundred years the greatest navy the world had ever known willed itself into extinction. First venturing out in the China Seas and reaching sezs strategic trading locations in Asia, the famous treasure fleet of the Ming Dynasty eventually voyaged as far as the African coast and the Middle East. In When China Ruled the SeasLouise Levathes takes a fascinating and unprecedented look at this dynamic period in China’s enigmatic history, focusing on China’s rise sesa a naval power that literally could have ruled the world and at its precipitious plunge into isolation when a new emperor ascended the Dragon Throne.

  ANIMAL LOCOMOTION BIEWENER PDF

When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne 1405-1433

She sheds new light on the historical and cultural context in which this great civilization thrived, as well as the perception of other cultures toward this little understood empire at the time. In When China Ruled the SeasLouise Levathes takes a fascinating and unprecedented look at this dynamic period in China’s enigmatic history, focusing on the country’s rise as a naval power that briefly brought half the world under its nominal authority.

As evidenced by the material, Whsn has written with the detached manner and style of a teacher. She sheds new light on the historical and cultural context in which this xeas navy thrived, as well as the perception of other cultures toward this little understood empire at the time. China from the s to Second Edition Jack Gray. The fact that the Chinese were able to construct sailing vessels that could withstand rough ocean waters so many centuries ago is a testament to their skills in design and building.